I just don’t have that drive

A friend wrote a post about being “writing crazy,” and it made me think. She is a writer; I express my opinion or share my experience on occasion. What makes me see her as a “real” writer and myself as not is the quality she shares of being driven, of writing taking up all the space in her mind sometimes, of having a serious need to put words on paper (or screen). I do not have that. Words and grammar fascinate me and I use them well, but that does not make me a writer in that very important sense. I read at almost the level she writes, but it does not extend to my own writing. I will continue to share my experiences and opinions, and I hope people enjoy it, but that driving need is what makes a person a writer.

Leave a Reply

