Not voting this time

I tried to vote yesterday in the Ohio primary, even though the Green Party, with whom I’m registered, does not have much of a primary out here in Knox County. The State of Ohio has decided not to send absentee ballots to registered voters unless they go through a request process and that made it a little harder before the rest of this adventure began. I shudder to think what might be involved in that request process.

So I got caught up in one thing or another in the “early” voting period and went to the Board of Elections on Election Day, yesterday. I usually vote there early, but yesterday they told me that I had to go to the precinct. I was already close to a mile from home on my bicycle, but I went further away to the precinct. Knowing that Ohio has a mean streak about letting poor people vote, I had my ID ready. My current, valid, in-state driver license did not satisfy the lady behind the table. It seems my current address was not on the license. I had updated my address with the BMV and continued with the same physical card. That did not do the job at the precinct. At that point, I gave up. I feel even more disgusted than I already was with politicians.

Leave a Reply

