Heat, Humidity, Rain, Lightning

We didn’t have hail, tornadoes,  or snow today, but we had enough different weather for Ohioans to feel at home. The humidity kept me in air conditioned places and cars most of the day. I made no effort to join the Mayor and his helmet-wearing, bicycle-riding friends when they opened the nearby stretch of the Ohio to Erie Trail. The part I can see from my front door is called the Camp Chase Trail. I’m glad it’s open (as far west as Wilson Road), but I’ve already ridden it a few dozen times. Anyhow, I don’t like crowds or hobbyist riders. They see me as tacky and reckless, I think, and I have to keep from snickering or giggling at their ideas and “issues.”

Rain pic creative commons

I’ve had a pretty good day all around. I did enough reading and Internet to keep from boring myself, but not much “productive” stuff. I feel rested.

I’ve been reading a book called The Wisdom of Psychopaths, by Kevin Dutton. It’s an interesting read, and I might do a book review on it. Psychopaths, as I understand it, include plenty of people other than serial killers. The author is not one himself, but he has apparently made friends with several as well as studying them for his life’s work. I don’t think I’d rest easy if I had psychopathic friends, even the non-criminal kind. One really interesting part of the book discusses the ways scientists can alter people’s brains temporarily. The author experienced something like being a psychopath (briefly) by means of one of those technologies. Strange.

I did get out in the evening for a meeting less than a mile away via that same trail. That’s good, but that’s plenty of exercise for this day. The extreme heat indexes are expected to go away for the season in the next few days. I hope so.

I actually put my fan on its “high” setting about half an hour ago. That’s the first time I’ve needed “full power” since I got it. Okay, that’s enough of that. [Gets up, turns fan down, putters around.]

I ran into an old friend this evening. She seems well and healthy, and we had a nice conversation. She lives Downtown in a place that sounds interesting and is subsidized. Hmmm.

This is getting boring, so I’m going to give up and go to bed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

