Big dose of small living philosophy

marcusaurelius386395

I was looking for something else when I came across this. It fits me like a glove.

We all see ridiculous amounts of advertising and marketing daily. This directs us to be happy by buying a product or service or by doing something else that will bring money to the advertiser. The messaging behind all that is, “Do this and be happy.” Of course, the advertiser’s intention is, “If they do this, I’ll make a nice salary, commission or profit.” (In a few cases, all three.) Many of the people around us have swallowed that whole and want to sell us the same message. The only problem with it is that it fails. I won’t bore you with one more round of statistics on suicide, homicide, stress-related illnesses, and so on It doesn’t take a long look to see that people who have more “stuff” are no happier than the rest of us. Hence the graphic.

Of course, some material things really do improve living. Shelter, food, and transportation top the list. If we throw in clothing as a form of shelter, we’re almost there. The company of our “tribe” is priceless and free in its own right, but going places, eating together, etc., costs. There is more, of course, but the point is that moderation helps, not hurts, our happiness and well-being. Preparing the food matters. However, a professional-quality kitchen is wasted on many of us, most of all me. It’s just something to impress the gullible or our family or someone. Too many possessions have that as their sole intention. No matter what the marketing or advertising shows, it won’t help. Even if some people say how wonderful the house, car, or whatever looks, it’s all an external cure for an internal problem.

Of course, finding happiness within myself requires looking inside myself. The bulk of people never do that, and never will. I suppose they’ll go to their graves wondering what happened. Self-examination is a big job, and I have to get help with it. Fortunately for me, the way that works best for me doesn’t cost any significant amount of money, and even that’s “if you can spare it.”

Okay, on with my day. I awoke this morning feeling enough better to realize I’ve been pretty sick. I’ve been coughing a lot and going through two or three tissues at a time, several times a day. I’m glad I’m better. I still took life pretty easy. I got a car ride to a meeting, then in late afternoon went to Save-A-Lot by bike (about half a mile each way) for a few bananas. That’s it for exertion. Of course, I rambled around on the Internet and I finished my book on psychopaths. The book review should be coming soon.

Leave a Reply

