Headache day

I awoke this morning with a sinus headache. Maybe the weather change did that, but maybe something else. Whatever caused it, I have a bar of pain connecting my eyebrows. It’s not a large area, and I can define it within a quarter inch. It hurts enough to take up my attention almost completely a lot of the time.

I went to the Downtown meeting this morning anyhow, and I’m glad I did. That’s an excellent meeting, always worthwhile.

After that, I changed bags at home and went on to Aldi’s, pretty much uneventfully.

I’m starting to hate this computer. It fought and carried on in ways old and new the whole afternoon.An old “friend” on Facebook got into me for something she could have ignored and saved us both some energy. It’s that kind of day. I was able to keep my response relatively mild mannered, as far as I can tell.

Then I made the mistake of scanning my 1 terabyte hard drive with Windows Defender. It took over two and a half hours, wiped out my plan to watch the news, and said it found something. That took another ten or fifteen minutes to remove.

I may yet watch the news from 6 p.m. I need to keep awake until at least 10 p.m. so that I don’t wake up at 4 or 5 a.m.

On a totally different note, someone mentioned a Lifeline (a.k.a. Obamaphone) provider that has an actual physical location near here. They didn’t say where that is, though. Input appreciated.

Anyhow, I had a rough day.

13 thoughts on “Headache day

  1. lcy

    Sinus headaches are terribly painful, have U tried asking your MD if sinus rinse will help you ? I has REALLY helped lots of people.

    Reply
    1. foothillbilly Post author

      Thanks for the reminder. I might try that on my own again, although by the time I answer this the headache is pretty much gone. It can be done as a do it yourself project. I’ve done it.

      “Asking your MD” is not as simple as all that. My MD is a clinic and my next appointment will mostly be taken up by my being trapped between Medicare, Medicaid, some “plan” that’s supposed to pick up expenses, and the fact that I don’t have money for co-pays. Making all that clear to my doctor would be difficult even if I understood it myself.

      Reply
      1. lcy

        True, by the time U got the previous reply you headache was gone, but perhaps -unfortunately- may have another one. There is a Sinus rinse bottle & preparation you can buy over the counter made by NeilMed ( based in Santa Rosa, California ), you can also get the NETpot instead of the bottle. If you bought the bottle MAKE SURE you OPEN YOUR MOUTH while instilling the water + the preparation INTO YOUR NOSE, you need to DIFUSE THE PRESURE otherwise the solution may go into your ears thru the eustachian tubes.
        This was recommended to me by my allergist & it has been SOOOO effective that I haven’t had a sinus headache in at least 10 years- ever since I began cleaning my sinuses.
        For info: http://www.sinusrinse.com Good luck !

  2. foothillbilly Post author

    I found a do-it-yourself recipe and instructions from the American Academy of Allergy Asthma, & Immunology that I’m going to try. I’ve seen those OTC kits and have a friend who vouches for them. In fact, I have used part of one of those (with my own syringe) but money is too tight right now for that.

    Reply
    1. lcy

      When I’m short of $$$ ( which is NOT unusual, LOL ) I make my own solution, I use one of those TINY spoons they give you to try ice-cream. The mixture goes like this:
      1 ( one ) tiny spoon of NON-iodized table salt + 3 ( three ) of baking soda in a liter of warm water; I shake it well so it dissolves. I preferably used filtered H2O. It’s been said that this sinus rinsing has been practiced for hundreds of years by the yogis.

      Reply
  3. foothillbilly Post author

    With this one, mix 3 “heaping” teaspoons of salt (they recommend pickling salt) with 1 rounded teaspoon of baking soda. (Store in a small airtight container until needed.) Mix one teaspoon of the dry mix with 8 ounces of lukewarm (about body temp) water. Use distilled, boiled, or otherwise “clean” water. I did this a few minutes ago, and all of that went fine. I need a better container for the washing, thought. Come the first of the month, I’ll take care of that. All in all, even with poor equipment, I’m doing better.

    Reply
    1. lcy

      Thanks for the ‘new’ to me mixture, I’ll try it soon.
      I believe the secret to sinus headache is ‘ prevention ‘ by it I mean to rinse my nose EVERYDAY let’s say in the morning after I wake up, that cleans the allergens off my sinus preventing FUTURE headaches. It’s NOT recommended to go to bed for 1- 1/2 hours after irrigating your nose, the rational behind it is, the moisture remaining in your nasal usages will trickle down into your bronchi / lungs possibly provoking bronchitis.

      Reply
  4. foothillbilly Post author

    Thank you very much!! That last part about bronchitis not only makes great sense, but there’s something you could not know from this thread. I have asthma and something more in my lungs (COPD or bonchiectasis, depending on which doctor I see). Preventing any further problems with my bronchi or lungs is very important.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

