Great First-of-the-Month

The first day of any given month, or whichever day the money comes in, means a busy day for poor people in the USA. We watch the weather and everything else, and we usually wait on pins and needles, knowing something could go wrong any given month.

My SSI (money) arrives by direct deposit on the first of each month; my food benefit later. I woke at 7 a.m. today; three hours later 95% of my cash benefit was spent. Oh, well. The bills are 100% paid, and that counts. No more late charges. I rushed out to spend part of the remainder on necessary food because the “food stamps” (SNAP) won’t cover all of it and to get whatever else. I ran out of facial tissues twice last month during and after the sinus infection, then fell back on toilet paper and nearly ran out of that. I replaced those and got a few other things I’ve been wanting.

The weather is gorgeous, exactly as predicted. Temperatures stayed in the 60s and 70s (F) all day, and the dew point (humidity) never rose out of the 50s. I am breathing much better. Humidity sucks my breath right out of me, and I had it back today. I was able to ride the bike all the way to Galloway (about 4 miles) and back, with long breaks of course. I haven’t been able to do that since July, and I feel great about it. I put the kitty-litter bucket panniers on the bike and left the trailer at home for today.

bike panniers 9-1-2016

All in all, I had a very good day!

2 thoughts on “Great First-of-the-Month

Leave a Reply

