I’m Still Here

I’m writing this mostly because I “should” (unfortunate word and idea). I’m not sure if more than one person is reading these, based on the lack of comments. Anyhow, I have a few updates.

I spent Thursday morning following up on the SNAP (food stamps) issue that I last tried to deal with six weeks ago. The person I talked to on that visit told me I’d get something in the mail about the outcome, but didn’t say when. When I woke up at 5:10 a.m. Thursday, I decided it was time to follow up. I went to the Opportunity Center (lol) good and early and wound up seeing the same person. She said I should have had a response within ten days of that last visit and that she’d send an email to the case worker, who would phone me. I went on about my day.

I had an appointment at 3 p.m. with a Beltone hearing aid office far out East Main Street, across town. My hearing aid should be maintained about every three months, and it probably took a bit more effort than usual because it’s been six months since that  happened.The gentleman there was very nice and didn’t charge me or even ask for my insurance cards.

On the way home, I stopped into an Aldi store near the East Main Walmart. I checked my SNAP balance on the way in, and I had $7 and some change. When I checked out with my $7.12 in groceries, I looked at the receipt to see how many cents I had left. I’m not even saying how big it was, but I had the highest balance I’ve ever seen on my 1-person account. They paid me for two months, I guess. Now I can eat decent food for a while and not pay cash for it. The “system” can move pretty fast when they want to make things happen.

I bought a dozen eggs at my Aldi stop, with the intention of learning to scramble eggs. I tried boiling four today according to instructions from the Egg Board, and somehow something went wrong. I asked Loretta about it. She told me how to do it right and simply. I’ll wait for another day, though. I’ve been half asleep every minute since 1:00 p.m. (13:00).

I plan to get the spokes for my bike wheel tomorrow. When I checked carefully, I found a second broken spoke. To just buy the spokes is cheap; having them installed by the shop would cost $30 more that I don’t have. Spokes are easy to install, but the wheel may need to be “trued.” If necessary, I can do that myself at the co-op.

2 thoughts on “I’m Still Here

  1. WendyUsuallyWanders

    I read all your posts 🙂 I’m the sort of person to not make many comments. I write my blog as if no one but me is reading it. For me, it’s a form of therapy. Once I write about what’s on my mind, life makes more sense to me. Remember when I had the blog with a few million hits? I had lots of trolls. Consider few comments a blessing. We are all just reading along….kind of like peeking in your window 🙂

    Reply
    1. foothillbilly Post author

      Wendy, I’ve been following your adventures for a long time. Your ideas and adventures always interest me. I comment when I think I have something constructive to say. I’m familiar with the idea of writing as therapy simply because I know so many people who do that. It works well for many of them.

      That said, I don’t write for therapy. I get that from interaction with people in recovery and from prayer, meditation, and taking action based on those things. I write because (a) so many people tell me I don’t keep in touch very well, and I very much want to keep in touch with some of them, (b) writing is my best skill by quite a bit, so I’d like to keep it as sharp as I can; it might let me work again someday, and (c) my “thing” in life is communicating; I seek interaction more than self-expression. I don’t have to be nice to trolls, but I want to interact with all the legitimate people I can.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

