A Good Day of Sitting

First, the pretty picture:

bus-stop-pic-10-23-2016

Across West Broad Street from the eastbound Southampton Park and Ride bus stop, my closest stop, 10-23-2016

Some of my family and friends in rural places seem to think Columbus is what they’ve seen on TV crime shows. This is more what I see. The street where I live has more trees than this.

Once again, four days have gone by while I thought I was posting every other day. That’s the way my life is going right now.

I spent too much time today sitting, but for good reasons. I did laundry this morning, which involved spending time with some of the grand-kids and with my (step) daughter Vicki. Cool.

Then I headed home on the bike, with the laundry in tow on my hand truck. For some reason, the towing went very well today. Maybe that was because I tied the handle of the hand truck on top of the bike’s luggage rack, rather than behind. That’s the only thing I’m coming up with, but it’s not a very satisfying explanation. The wind, etc., doesn’t account for it.

After that, I sat quietly from 1 to 5 p.m. (1300 to 1700). The reason for doing that is that I had my re-apply-by-phone call today for my food benefits. They scheduled that for 4:15 or 4:20 p.m. if I remember correctly, but I have too much experience coping with “the system” to count on a specific time. The call came around 4:30. The interview itself went well, and I don’t need to submit any paper. At least, the person never mentioned any and what they might want is current because I moved here so recently. She said the benefits will come in as usual.

I’ve had some computer adventures last night and today. I decided to try out a couple of other browsers (I use Firefox), and that didn’t work out so well. The other browsers load faster, and I might use one of them for the news, but I’ll probably stick with Firefox mostly because it has my bookmarks and a better new tab page. Neither of the other browsers (Google Chrome or MS Edge) was able to import my bookmarks from Firefox, although they both offer that. They found some old ones someplace, but not the current ones.

I even took a stab at hemming a pair of pants with this fusing tape stuff. We’ll see how that works out, but it’s a start.

All in all, it’s been a long but productive day.

Leave a Reply

