Do I Look Hungry?

Here’s what I look like this morning (sorry for the blurry picture):

2016-11-25-smiling-profile

2016-11-25 Profile picture with smile

People have been offering to feed me lately, and I don’t understand it. A few weeks ago, I boarded a bus. In a few seconds, the rider across the aisle started telling me how the shelter downtown offers free meals. I imagine he needed them much more than me. Yesterday, the building manager here offered me a Thanksgiving plate two separate times. Ok, I’m sure she has “issues” of some sort, but that’s another person wanting me to eat. Between those two times, I rode my bike down the nearby trail to check on progress. (None.) When I came onto the trail (from an apartment complex located there), I saw a couple crossing it further up. I’m guessing they live in the little neighborhood on that side of the trail. As I passed them, they offered me a plate of food, too. Then they asked if I knew where “George” was and said they’d been looking for him. Homeless people live in that area, probably including George. I imagine they thought I was also homeless and might know him.

Do I really look homeless and hungry?

Leave a Reply

